Live Cams in Stockholm County

Stockholm County, Sweden

Stockholm County (Stockholms län) is an administrative division in Sweden. It lies on the Baltic coast of the country comprising the historic provinces of Södermanland and Upland, with is administrative seat in Stockholm, Sweden's capital. The county contains the Stockholm Archipelago with more than 30,000 islands as well as extensive forest area and suburbs ideal for outdoor activities and retreats from the dense urban areas.The capital Stockholm comprises 14 islands on the Baltic Sea, and numerous bridges. Ferries and sightseeing boats are a great way to visit the islands and enjoy the views around the city. Stockholm old town (Gamla Stan) consists mostly of the island of Stadsholmen, containing also the nearby islets of Strömsborg, Riddarholmen and Helgeandsholmen. It dates back to the 13th century featuring charming cobbled streets, medieval alleyways and significant buildings such as the Royal Palace in Baroque style, the Nobel Museum and Stockholm Cathedral, formally named Sankt Nikolai kyrka (Church of St. Nicholas). The Metropolitan Stockholm area has numerous historical buildings, five Royal Palaces and more than 80 museums. In Ekerö, a freshwater archipelago in lake Mälaren, you will find the UNESCO World Heritage Sites: the Viking age settlement Birka, and Drottningholm Palace.Population: approximately 2.3 million inhabitantsCapital: Stockholm Other major places: Södertälje, Lidingö, Tumba, Sigtuna Main attractions: Stockholm Gamla Stan, Vasa Museum, ABBA The Museum, Skansen open-air museum and zoo, Birka Viking City, Drottningholm Palace, Värmdö and Vaxholm islandsNearest Airports: Stockholm Arlanda Airport (ARN)