Live Cams in Akershus

Akershus, Norway

Akershus (Akershus fylke) is a county in southeastern Norway. It shares borders with the counties of Buskerud, Hedmark, Oppland, Oslo and Østfold, as well as a short border with Sweden. Due to the proximity from the capital of Norway, the western part of Akershus is part of Oslo metropolitan area. In fact, the administrative centre of Akershus is in the city of Oslo, and outside the county’s territory. Through Akershus flows the picturesque Inner Oslofjord, where you may take a cruise to the scenic islands and do water sports such as kayaking, diving and fishing. The major towns in Akershus are in the east part of the county near Oslo such as Lillestrøm and Ski, while in the west and north part of the county predominates agricultural areas where you will find numerous charming small villages.Population: approximately 600 thousand inhabitantsCapital: OsloOther places: Årnes, As, Asker, Bjørkelangen, Blaker, Drøbak, Eidsvoll Verk, Fosser, Hemmes, Jessheim, Lillestrøm, Løken, Maura, Morskogen, Minnesund, Råholt, Sandvika, Skrukkelia, Vormsund Main attractions: Oscarsborg Fortress, Eidsvoll 1814 (museum), Tusenfryd amusement park, Oslofjord, Lake Mjøsa, Kolsåstoppen summitMajor Airports: Oslo Airport (OSL - Oslo Lufthavn)