Live Cams in Okinawa Prefecture

Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

The Japanese prefecture of Okinawa (沖縄県) comprises over 150 islands known as the Ryukyu Islands. These are in the East China Sea, divided into three groups – the Okinawa Islands, which includes the main island of Okinawa where stands the capital city Naha, the Miyako and the Yaeyana Islands.Okinawa is the southernmost prefecture of Japan, between Taiwan to the south and Japan's mainland to the north. It is an excellent tourist destination enjoying a subtropical climate and wide sand beaches. The seas around the islands are abundant with marine life and have stunning coral reefs. As such, scuba diving and snorkeling are top activities in Okinawa Prefecture.Other attractions include wonderful natural parks, old shrines, and Gyoku Sendo, an outstanding underground cave in the city of Nanjo with over a million stalactites and stalagmites along over five kilometres of length!Population: over 1.4 million inhabitantsCapital: NahaOther major cities: Okinawa, Urasoe, Uruma, Ginowan, Itoman, Ishigaki, Miyakojima, Nago, Nanjō, Tomigusuku Main attractions: Shuri Castle, First Makishi Public Market, Tsuboya District, Naminoue Shrine, Nakijin Castle, Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium, Cape Manzamo, Gyoku Sendo (underground caves), Sefa-utaki (historical sacred place), Okinawa Commemorative National Government Park, Okinawa Prefectural Peace Memorial Museum, Okinawa Senseki Quasi-National Park, Daisekirinzan (national Park), Okinawa World (cultural theme park)Nearest Airports: Naha Airport (OKA - 那覇空港)